Daniel’s letters: 17 October 1813 – powder mills, life in Hounslow

mus.59.27.1.6r


mus.59.27.1.6v

October

R 22nd

8th

Hounslow October 17 1813

Dear Father Mother and Brother

This letter I send to you and hope to find you all in good health as I am at present And to advise you little of this place my Uncle is follow Millwrighting and my Aunt is Bonet maker and very strict England Church

And my Uncle is work at this mills now he been away from here ones with Mr  Fish and mean to built a mills at blackpool and when Mr Fish  Dead  he been some timeout of employ and he came back here again I belve he lost part of his regard when he went away from here he got a very large Garden at the Mills before and when he came back he lost the garden he work here at first for Mr Hill and he keep him like a Slave work in this work and promise him when he Dead left him one half of his Property and he sold the mills to Mr Butts before he Dead and he keep them now and when he Dead he left him £20 instead the one half of his Property he worth £3000000 when he Dead and left them all to Mr Fish

But whatever he live very well and keep nice Little House 2 rooms on the floor and two rooms  upstars and two garden one before the House and the other in the back and Paid £14  of rent

dont you Mention a word in your letters about this because they like to see your letters and to see the letters I send to you and I Derect this to Will and then he not want to see it and if you got any Secret say to me you write a letter and give to some body else to Derect it because they know your Hand writeing and then I say he is a letter from my Brother

my Uncle think of me as I was leyer because you told me to tell the truth and think I was unsobor there and not keep my for you told me to be Sobor here dont you say that no more I cant be nothing better for you told me

I board myself now I been 9 weeks upon their board and said 14s 0d per week for board and 2s 0d week for lodgings and pay in the yard where I work 2d for bason of Tea for breakfast and 3d for beer to Deaner the mills is almost 2 Mils from Hounslow I have no more to inform you Remember me to Griffth John and all my frinds

So no more at present from your most Dutiful Son and Servant

Dl . Williams

Leave a Reply / Gadewch ateb

