Daniel’s letters: 17 January 1819 – son is named John Owen William, mother and baby doing well

R. 23rd of Instant

Hounslow Janry 17th 1819

Dear Father and Mother

I received my Brother Thomas letter Dated 17th of Decbr on the 22nd and glad to hear that Mother and you are better and in hopes that you will keep so if please God. My Wife sends her love to you and I am glad to inform you that she is pretty confortable and the little boy is pretty well and grow very fast he was christen 29 of Novbr and Uncle give him the name of John Owen William. Uncle and Aunt send their respect to you all and glad to heard that you are better

According to my Brother Thomas’s wish I have enquire at the Lottrey office in Town conserning his tickets and they are as follow No 1812 – 10th Price 2.796 Blank 12 – 767 Blank I am sorry that he has not had a better loock

Please to give my best respect Uncle and Aunt of Glanpoolavon and Mr Thomas Griffiths of Penralltowel and his Mistres

I am very sorry to heard of G. Edward

[Part of page missing]


John Phillipp

Chwi a widdoch i John Evans i birny cefil oddiwrthi fi ag o achos ei cam imddieiad ar[?] orfu adel a wlad ac heb fi nhali i ; gwnewch eich gorau i fi ei cael, cliwais ddwyd i fod arian i gael, ag os na chafi nhwy mifi ai hafloniddaf man u mae e mifi ai hispisaf trwy’r Unoldalaithe (United States) Newbrunswick ymale mae St Johns in sefill pa fath ar oedd yn Brittain ar achos o iddo adel a gwlad ei enedigaeth mae Bachgen i fi n mined i America cin hir.

Advertisements

Daniel’s letters: 25 July 1819 – mother’s ‘unfortunate accident’, wheat harvest begins

R. 28th of Instant

Hounslow July 25th 1819

Dear Father and Mother

Your letter Dated 14th came to hand on the 18th Instant, and very sorry to heard of the unfortunate accidents of my Mother that happens 29 of Janary and on the 5th of May but in great hopes that she is better if please God and hope that she will be prepare for another place that is better than this troublesome World

I am very sorry to hear of your unhealthy state of life and hope that this fine weather will bring health and strength

I have no news worth mention at present but we are all in a tolerabl estate of health and hope that my friends and relations enjoys the same

My little boy grows very fast and a fine little boy he is –

The farmers has began cut the Wheat this week in this nibourhood

I hope you will write again as soon as oppotunity will permit

Dl Williams

Daniel’s letters: 24 October 1819 – mother’s death, son walking, price of food

R. 29 of Instant

Hounslow Octbr 24th 1819

Dear Father and Brothers

We received a letter from St’ph Williams dated Octbr the 3rd in which we heard of your troubles and very sorry to hear of the lost of my Mother

I hope that you are better than you was when you wrote last & hope my Brothers are all well and Uncle Tos Williams Glanpolavon and his family and Sn Williams and his family I hope they are all well

I have no particular news to inform you but we are all in our usual health and my little boy grow very fast and can walk alone

Trades are dead and the markets high markets prices Beef and mutton from 8d to 10d per lb poark from 10d to 12d per lb fresh Butter from 18d to 20d per lb salt Ditto from 12d [to] 15d per lb

I hope you will write as soon as you can make it convieant so no more at present

from your humble servants

D & H Williams


Recd. 29 of October 1819

A Model for the Equalization of the poor Rate taken (on the chairs before the tables in our houses being the sagatious the principal head boroughs and the Chief of the parish, and one where of is of the Tythingmen) for the parish of Llantood in the County of Pembroke February the 4th 1820