Daniel’s letters: 9 November 1817 – Uncle Owen writes of Daniel’s impending marriage

mus.59.27.1.34rmus.59.27.1.34v

R. 16 of Instant

[Owen Williams, Daniel’s uncle, writes]

Hounslow November 9th 1817

my good Brother & Sister, I take this Erley Oportunity to Inform you that your son Daniel is going to be Maried to a Charming young women of one & twenty: now you are going ask me whome shee is: and I will tell you shee is a Nice of yor sister in Law at Hounslow, a Native of Warickshire

Daniel & shee hath kep Company this 2 year

I send you this acount for your approbation the Bannes are publis this day. So lett me have your opinion on the matter as soon as you pleas your Datter in Law is going to Nite you a paire of stocking & send them Doun some time in the spring –

give my respects to my Brother Thomas & ackep of this to yourself from a

Brother Owen Williams


your Intended Dagther is very Slender But I suposes that Daniel will macke her thicker yor to call her your Dather Hanah

Advertisements

Daniel’s letters: 9 November 1817 – Daniel’s brother William loses his wife; Daniel is married

mus.59.27.1.35rmus.59.27.1.35v

R. 6th of Decembr

Hounslow Novbr , 9th 1817

Dear Father Mother and Brothers

Your letter dated Octbr 20th I received on the 29th and glad that you were better in health and in great hopes that ares till better. Your letter dated Novbr the 7th I received on the 11th and very sorry to hear that my Brother Will has had the misfortune of lost his wife I am extremly sorry for his trouble

I cannot imagine how this letter came to Hounslow it only cost 4d ½ and all the others 12d ½. Your letter dated 16th Uncle received on the 20th

I have no news worth mention but we are in our usual health and in hopes you are the same

You seems to be rather doubtfull of what Uncle inform you in his Letter but you may belive it is true enough I was Married the 17th of Novbr in London to a niece of my Ant

so we still remain dutiful

D & H Williams


NB tun William Shone maried aboute munth


Answer to the within Penralltddu Debr 6th 1817

Daniel’s letters: 14 June 1818 – wife unwell, and Battle of Waterloo celebrations

R. 25 Instant

Hounslow June 14 1818

Dear Father and Mother

I take the opportunity to write these lines to you and hope they will meet you in your usual health as we are at present all but my wife has been rather poorly for great while she send her love to you all likewise Uncle and Aunt. I rather wonder that I did not heard from you since I wrote on the 30th of Novebr last I wish to hear from you as soon as possible to know how you all are and to know whether Caleb is still at home I have no news to inform you at present only we still remain with Uncle and Aunt and I am goen back to the Powder Mills to Work

We expect to have a grand to do on Hounslow Heath on 18th of this Month in memory of the battle of Waterloo. There was five Reigments of Dragoons revewd on Hounslow Heath about a fortnight ago 1st & 2nd Reigt, of life guard Oxford Bluse, 10th Royal Huzzar and 19th lancirs

Please to give my best respect to all my friends and except the same Yourselfs

 

Dl Williams

 

Answear this 28 of June 1818

Daniel’s letters: 17 January 1819 – son is named John Owen William, mother and baby doing well

R. 23rd of Instant

Hounslow Janry 17th 1819

Dear Father and Mother

I received my Brother Thomas letter Dated 17th of Decbr on the 22nd and glad to hear that Mother and you are better and in hopes that you will keep so if please God. My Wife sends her love to you and I am glad to inform you that she is pretty confortable and the little boy is pretty well and grow very fast he was christen 29 of Novbr and Uncle give him the name of John Owen William. Uncle and Aunt send their respect to you all and glad to heard that you are better

According to my Brother Thomas’s wish I have enquire at the Lottrey office in Town conserning his tickets and they are as follow No 1812 – 10th Price 2.796 Blank 12 – 767 Blank I am sorry that he has not had a better loock

Please to give my best respect Uncle and Aunt of Glanpoolavon and Mr Thomas Griffiths of Penralltowel and his Mistres

I am very sorry to heard of G. Edward

[Part of page missing]


John Phillipp

Chwi a widdoch i John Evans i birny cefil oddiwrthi fi ag o achos ei cam imddieiad ar[?] orfu adel a wlad ac heb fi nhali i ; gwnewch eich gorau i fi ei cael, cliwais ddwyd i fod arian i gael, ag os na chafi nhwy mifi ai hafloniddaf man u mae e mifi ai hispisaf trwy’r Unoldalaithe (United States) Newbrunswick ymale mae St Johns in sefill pa fath ar oedd yn Brittain ar achos o iddo adel a gwlad ei enedigaeth mae Bachgen i fi n mined i America cin hir.

Daniel’s letters: 3 September 1820 – another son born to Daniel and Hannah (in their new house), and a visit to Caleb in London

R 8th of Instant

Sept 3 1820

Dear Father & Brothers

Your letter Dated 3rd of June I received on the 8th and very sorry to heard of your unhealthy situation but in hopes that you are better and to inform you that you got another grandson my wife was put to bed the 24th of August of a boy and they both likely to do as weell as can be expectied,

I went to London last sunday to see Caleb he was well and hearty arive from Cork fue days before with a cargo of butter and was loading a cargo for Chepstow he deseired to be remembered to you and to our Brothers

I have to inform you that Uncle has got a pice of land and has built a House upon it and we live in it ever since easter he keeps a grocer shop but it dos not answer very well at present but in expecstation that it will after a bit for the niborhod is greatly increase with new bulding

I hope you will excuse me at present because I am in hurry I hope you will write as soon as you can make it convenient so no more at present […] from your affection

D Williams


I was Surprice that you did not mention a word about the Queen and her trial for that is all the talk hiere and the are all queen’s men and women Exept them that hold Plases under Govenment

If you can make it convinient to send a second hand Newes paper I shall be much obliedge to you the same frank will do only a fresh cover