Morris’s letters: 29 January 1815 – discharge matters, troops in town

mus.59.27.2.18r


mus.59.27.2.18v


R. 12th of February

Gosport 29th January 1815

I Rec’d your letter Dated 16th Instant on the 22nd of the same and am glad to find that you  are all enjoy your usial health as this leaves me at Present, am very glad to hear that Tho’s Glanpoolavon has wrote for my Discharge I have not hear a word of it yet, but I hope I shall soon.

I heard that this Regiment is to be Redused to 5 hundred and if that will be there will be about 5 hundred Discharged and then I hope I shall have my Discharge, This Colonel Delmer Refuse to make an Aplication for no man untill the Head Colonel of the Regiment will join his Name is Ellis and he will join in March, There is an orders from the Commander in Chief that he wont Grant for no man to have his Discharge without the Permision of the Commanding Offcier of the Regiment

There was 4 or 5 Regiments of Embarked in this Town about 3 weeks ago and they laid  in the Harbour till last week they Disembark again in the same place they dont want no Troops in America now because it is Peace on the foot but not Properly setled yet I have nothing more to say at Present I have not heard only once from Thomas since he was Discharge, write back soon no more

Morris Williams

N.B. I have keep this letter 7 days after wrote  if expecting a letter from my Brother


This morning I Rec’d a Letter from Thomas my Brother he is well and harty with a Genteelman in Chester and he said in his letter that he would write to you the same day as he wrote to me, I think it is beter for me to be sinlence about my Discharge now untill the Reduction will Take Pla[ce]

M Williams

5th Feb’y 1815

Advertisements

Morris’ letters: to his brother Thomas, 24 August 1815: ‘Prize Money’ and promotion to Lance Sergeant

mus.59.27.2.25r


mus.59.27.2.25v


[Letter from J. Enoch, Adjutant, Royal Welch Fusiliers to Thomas Williams about ‘Prize Money’, with a note from Morris Williams on reverse. Presumably obtained by his parents posthumously (maybe from Thomas?) and added to book]

Paris 24 August 1815

To Thomas Williams
In reply to your Letter of the 10th inst. I am to inform you that the Prize Lists are not as yet made out which prevents my sending to you the Certificate required to enable you to draw your Prize money – As the Prize money in all probability will not be paid for the next twelve months to come, another application from you to me will be useless. I have given directions to your Brother Lance Serjeant Morris Williams to communicate with you when the Prize money may be paid.

I am etc. etc. J Enoch Adjutant
Royal Welch Fusiliers

Dear Brother this morning the Adjutant Called me and Informed me of a Letter which you have sent to Enquire after your Prize Money and told me that the Prize money will not be paid this Long time but when ever it is payable I shall Let you know Immediately –

Dear Brother I have nothing in particular worth to Relate at Present only I was made a Lance Serjeant few weeks ago and I expect I shall be made full Serjeant in about a month or 2. I have a letter from my Father 6 Dayes ago Informing me of your Promis of going to see your Father. If Posible go this Season to your Father and Mother.

I have no more at Present write back soon your Affectionate Brother

M. Williams L. Serjt
23 Regt

Derect as I have mention before

Daniel’s letters: 17 January 1819 – son is named John Owen William, mother and baby doing well

R. 23rd of Instant

Hounslow Janry 17th 1819

Dear Father and Mother

I received my Brother Thomas letter Dated 17th of Decbr on the 22nd and glad to hear that Mother and you are better and in hopes that you will keep so if please God. My Wife sends her love to you and I am glad to inform you that she is pretty confortable and the little boy is pretty well and grow very fast he was christen 29 of Novbr and Uncle give him the name of John Owen William. Uncle and Aunt send their respect to you all and glad to heard that you are better

According to my Brother Thomas’s wish I have enquire at the Lottrey office in Town conserning his tickets and they are as follow No 1812 – 10th Price 2.796 Blank 12 – 767 Blank I am sorry that he has not had a better loock

Please to give my best respect Uncle and Aunt of Glanpoolavon and Mr Thomas Griffiths of Penralltowel and his Mistres

I am very sorry to heard of G. Edward

[Part of page missing]


John Phillipp

Chwi a widdoch i John Evans i birny cefil oddiwrthi fi ag o achos ei cam imddieiad ar[?] orfu adel a wlad ac heb fi nhali i ; gwnewch eich gorau i fi ei cael, cliwais ddwyd i fod arian i gael, ag os na chafi nhwy mifi ai hafloniddaf man u mae e mifi ai hispisaf trwy’r Unoldalaithe (United States) Newbrunswick ymale mae St Johns in sefill pa fath ar oedd yn Brittain ar achos o iddo adel a gwlad ei enedigaeth mae Bachgen i fi n mined i America cin hir.