Daniel’s letters: 30 April 1815 – parents unwell, advice regarding treatment of Lameness

mus.59.27.1.19r


mus.59.27.1.19v


R. May 4th

Hounslow April 30th 1815

Dear, Father and Mother

Your letter Dated 15th of April I received on the 19th of the same And sorry to hear of your unhealthy situation and in great hopes you are better at present ,

I am very sorry to heard such mournful account of Tho\s/ George’s family, I have no news at present worth notice but all for war and the sound of fifes drums and trumpets we have heard again but I hope it will not last long

In concern of Morris Griffiths as he told me he chance to get rather tipsy and meet with the recruiting party and listed into the first Regiment of foot Guard ,

The Gunpowder I sent you is 3s 6d per lb I have not see D. Davies yet but I think I shall see him before long

I have nothing particular to inform you at precent but this we are in our usual health and hope you will write as soon as you can and remember me to my frinds –

Your most humble servant

Dl Williams


[Owen Williams, Daniel’s uncle, writes]

My good Brother I am sory to hear of your Lameness and would advice you to get a pice of  wite  Leather 8 inches over and put a plaster of Burgandy pich that is of brite yelow color and put it on the  hip  as warm as you can bare it and Let it be on untill comes of of his own acord

get it Rub with coars Touel as hard as you can bare it before you put the plaster on it is the rheumtism that is fix in the hip it goes by the Difrent Name of Sciatic in the […]ate of the Back it is Caled Lumbago I have reasson to hop that you will feind a Benefite from it I am with

Respect yor Brothr Owen Williams


[John Williams, Daniel’s father, replies]

Penralltddu May the 7th 1815 Answer to this

Yours Dated the 30th of April Came to hand the 4th of Instant and am glad to hear of your healthy situation, praise the Lord for his mercy,

I am so painfull that I cannot sleep night or Day since a fortnight, Chair and pillows is to hard for me to sit on them, that maks me to be in bed greatest part of my time, and cannot turn my self in bed without great pain, and I do not know what will come of me, Your Mother is very unhealthy but she is Deal better than me

I have great many thanks to you my brother for your advice to me of the plaster your relation in this neighbourhood is well and Hearty,

Daniel, Will your Brother meet in Cardigan with a young man called John Landwr and bids him to ask you can you find a work to him if he comes to Houndslow, he wants to go to some where, he is now work at the new mill in Cardigan

John William

Advertisements

Daniel’s letters: 8 June 1817 – brother William leaving home

mus.59.27.1.33r

R. 12th of Instant

Dear Father and Mother

Your letter dated April 28th I received on the 2nd of May and glad to heard that you were better than you have been and in great hopes that you will enjoy a better health than you have done lately

Your letter dated May 31st Received on the 5th of June and very sorry to hear that my Brother Wm is going to leave you. I am very much oblige to you for your kind offer to me, but I am not very desierous to come home at present if you not want me in particular

Mr Brown from Cardigan call on us on the 7th of May last on his return from London to Cardigan and he brought a letter from Stephen Williams

Uncle and Aunt sends thier best respects to you and wishes to be remember to Uncle & Aunt at Glanpoollavon

Please to remember me to my frinds and write when you are at leisure

I am your most obedient

Dl Williams

Daniel’s letters: 9 November 1817 – Daniel’s brother William loses his wife; Daniel is married

mus.59.27.1.35rmus.59.27.1.35v

R. 6th of Decembr

Hounslow Novbr , 9th 1817

Dear Father Mother and Brothers

Your letter dated Octbr 20th I received on the 29th and glad that you were better in health and in great hopes that ares till better. Your letter dated Novbr the 7th I received on the 11th and very sorry to hear that my Brother Will has had the misfortune of lost his wife I am extremly sorry for his trouble

I cannot imagine how this letter came to Hounslow it only cost 4d ½ and all the others 12d ½. Your letter dated 16th Uncle received on the 20th

I have no news worth mention but we are in our usual health and in hopes you are the same

You seems to be rather doubtfull of what Uncle inform you in his Letter but you may belive it is true enough I was Married the 17th of Novbr in London to a niece of my Ant

so we still remain dutiful

D & H Williams


NB tun William Shone maried aboute munth


Answer to the within Penralltddu Debr 6th 1817

Daniel’s Letters, 4 January 1824 – declines commercial offer, expenses of sickness

R. 9th of Instant

Hounslow Janry 4th 1824

Dear Father and Brothers

Your Letter Dated Novber 29th I receid on the 5th of Decbr and glad to hear of your health and hope you enjoy the same as we are at present and hope you will excuse me for not write sooner

I am much Oblieg to you for your offer but sorry to say that it is not in my power to join your commercial intention I wish it was I should be heartily glad of the Opportunity of try any thing thats likely to be beneficial to me for I have experienced that One in my capacity only his daily labour to depend upon cannot do much more than keep head above watter for I have had very expensive times lately what with sickness Doctor s attendance &c – and therefore compell to declain your Offer at the same time wish you abundance of sucess in your undertakeing

I remaine in hopes that I shall see my Brother Caleb on his arrival in London, Uncle & Aunt sends their respects to you so no more at present

D Williams


Ebrill 28 1824

Gan ein bod ni yn bwriaddu cymmeryd arnom yr ystad o Lan Briodas , ar ddydd … [cancelled word: Fai] … nesaf, ein cyfeillion a’n cefogant i wneyd NEITHIOR ar yr achlysur yr un diwrnod, yr hon a gedwir yn Pen-yr-allt-ddu, Ty Tad y Mab Ieuanc, yno y gostyngedig ddeisyfir eich llon gyfeillach, a pha Rodd bynnag a weloch fod yn dda ein cynnysgaethu a hi, a dderbynir yn ddiolchgar ac a ad-delir yn llawen, pa bryd benag y galwer am dani ar yr unrhyw achlysur.

Gan eich gostyngedig Weision

Wm William

Lettice Morris

Y mae John William Tad y Mab Ieuanc, yn dymuno i bob pwthion ag sydd yn ddyledus yddo e ag hefyd oedd yw Ddyweddar wraig Esther William, i gael eu dychwelyd i’r Mab Ieuanc ar y diwarnod hwnw; ag yn dra diolchgar am bob Rhoddion.

Ymhellach ymae …… Daniel William a Caleb William, yn dymino cael derbyn ei pwythion ar y diwarnod rhagddywededig , ag yn ddiolchgar ,

Y mae Ann Morris Mam y Ferch Ieuanc yn gwahodd at ei Merch ag yn deisyf cael pob pwythion \ac yn/ ddiolchgar am pob Rhodd.