Daniel’s letters: 6 January 1823 – death of his son Thomas, birth and death of a daughter

mus-59-27-140-46r


mus.59.27.1-43v


Jan’ry 6th 1823

Dear Father and Brothers

I have been waiting for somthing worth notice to send but little did I thougth of such malancoly news to inform you of that my little son Thomas died this morning of inflameation in his little throat he is two years four months 13 days old he was Dearly beloved an affectionate Child he was his mother is almost distracted I am not much better myself little John laments much for the lost of his little Brother he has not been ill only fue days

My wife was put to bed 26 of November of a Daughter and she did not live only two days after she was born my wife has not been well since and now this lamented troble came up on us that I dont know what to do.

So I leve you to Judge my situation I am your most unhappy

D Williams

This Answered 3rd of February 1823

Leave a Reply / Gadewch ateb